Good Stuff Roundup [9.20.24]

46 days to go. Early voting started in Minnesota, Virgina, and South Dakota today, and the election has officially begun. More to come from me soon about ways to help. Especially about my local election, NY-17: guys, MAGA-curious Mike Lawler has go to go (for the love of Christ as of last week this race “Leans Republican”?!) (my shriek is being muffled as I'm breathing into a paper bag rn) and Mondaire Jones needs our help to win back his seat. Hard work is good work, says our fearless leader Kamala, but all work, no play, etc. etc., so please take a break for some fun stuff before getting back to business.

  • Billie Eilish and her brother Finneas endorsed the Harris-Walz ticket this week, which was amazing. Equally amazing was Billie lending her beautiful song “When the Party’s Over” to this devastating ad featuring survivor and advocate Hadley Duvall. (warning you need Kleenex for this but it’s worth it)

  • On the otherwise depressing draconian abortion laws front, this is absolutely fantastic news: AZ governor Katie Hobbs and the badass AG’s office have officially repealed state’s Civil War-era ban on nearly all abortions.

  • It’s usually not worth trying to explain to another person why you find something funny, so I’m not going to bother. This woman is hilarious and her take on an undecided voter made me heartily LOL. “What’s wrong with you I don’t have enough information”

  • As I’ve said a thousand times since 2016, if I’m not laughing I’d be crying. This is a genius take on Project 2025—and not only is it done in song, but it’s done in the style of the cherished source of Gen X’s entire base of knowledge about American civics, Schoolhouse Rock. Bravo.

  • I am willing to reaggravate the plantar fascitis in my feet by wearing Chucks because this election is just that important. (h/t Rob!)

  • Tomorrow is Earth, Wind & Fire Day, and personally, I have long advocated for September 21st to become a national holiday. Do you remember?

  • Kamala Harris had a rally tonight in Madison, Wisconsin, and my daughter Susannah went with friends. I’m kvelling. And jealous!